Monday, July 27, 2015

#BassMondays - July 2015 Favorites

#BassMondays is here with 5 favorite releases from the month of July.

 1. Technimatic - Flashbulb EP

A swirling warm breeze signals the welcome return of Technimatic who drop their first solo release since their critically acclaimed debut album of last year, ‘Desire Paths’. Picking up from where they left off, Pete Rogers and Andy Powell deliver a superb sun-drenched EP coupling sharp, pristine drum & bass with trademark musicality perfect for the summer months ahead.


1. Technimatic - Remember You
2. Technimatic - Dirty Hands
3. Technimatic - Secret Smile ft. Lucy Kitchen
3. Technimatic - Flashbulb

Released by : Shogun Audio

Release Date : 10th July 2015

2. Drum & Bass Summer Slammers 2015

Viper Recordings annual "Drum & Bass Summer Slammers" series features over 30 of the biggest tracks from the hottest names in DNB from around the world. Now in its sixth year, the series has always marked the unmistakable sounds of summer Drum & Bass. Featured artists include: Matrix & Futurebound, Brookes Brothers, The Prototypes, Calyx & Teebee, ShockOne, Cyantific, InsideInfo, Smooth, S.P.Y, Rene LaVice, Metrik, Koven, Trei, BMotion, Mob Tactics, Maduk and many more.


1. Sigma feat. Labrinth - Higher (Sigma VIP Remix)**
2. Matrix & Futurebound - Glow Worm
3. Mike Mago & Dragonette - Outline (Cyantific Remix)**
4. The Prototypes - Pop It Off (feat. Mad Hed City)
5. Rene LaVice – The Calling (feat. Ivy Mairi)
6. Dr. Kucho! & Gregor Salto ft Ane Brun – Can’t Stop Playing (Makes Me High) (Cyantific Remix)**
7. Calyx & Teebee – A Day That Never Comes
8. Dimension – Whip Slap
9. BMotion – Chaos *
10. Hybrid Minds - Meant To Be feat. Grimm (InsideInfo Remix)
11. Mob Tactics – Zodiac *
12. S.P.Y – Cold Harsh Air (feat. Total Science & Grimm)
13. Enter Shikari - Anaesthetist (Koven Remix)**
14. Brookes Brothers – Anthem (feat. Camille) (Cyantific Remix)
15. Koven – More Than You (DC Breaks Remix)
16. Cyantific - High Water Mark
17. Pluton & Skyer - Pandorum *
18. Maduk & Champion - Love Like This
19. Kove - Stellar
20. Metrik – Nightdrive
21. ShockOne – Infinity’s Silence
22. Smooth – Moonlight *
23. BMotion – Something, Something
24. Trei – Bengal *
25. Smooth - The Black Hole
26. InsideInfo – The Plains
27. Tali - Forces - (Trei Remix)
28. Koven & Memtrix – Pessimist
29. Seismix – Reload
30. Cynematic – Daytona
31. Dossa & Locuzzed – Hollow *
32. Octo Pi – Matter *
33. T & Sugah – Alternate *
34. Dexcell – Terminus *
35. Summer Slammers 2015 Mixed by Mob Tactics (Continuous DJ Mix)

Released by : Viper Recordings

Release Date : 5th July 2015

3. Tremors (Original Remix)  - Delta Heavy

'Ghost/ Tremors' by Delta Heavy, feat. Zomboy and Infuze.


1. Delta Heavy - Ghost (Original Remix)
2. Delta Heavy - Tremors (Original Remix)
3. Delta Heavy - Ghost (Zomboy Remix)
4. Delta Heavy - Ghost (Infuze Remix)

Released by : RAM Recordings

Release Date : 17th July 2015


4. Document One - I Got A Fever / Follow Me

Since Document One stormed onto Technique's roster, this production duo have set about marking out their very own niche in the D&B spectrum. Songwriters' musicality and an appreciation for multiple genres, while still keeping focus firmly on the dancefloor, makes for a powerful combination. Now, with this latest release, they're back to consolidate their status and draw together some more threads in their ongoing multi-form musical narrative.

“I Got a Fever” wastes no time in laying out the formula. A swing-time low-end perforates smoky jazz club ambience, with loose percussion holding down the beat. The bass morphs between upright plucks and synthetic sweeps to neatly underline Document One's approach of providing a slick modern twist on foundation sounds. As the track builds, a vocal sample signals its time for the bass and drum to tighten up and drop into a cowbell-led funkstepping ride. This is summer music, as much about fun and partying with a smile on your face as it is about serious musicianship. Then there's a whole different take on the summertime vibe for “Follow Me”. Ethereal vocals float over crisp and punchy drums, accompanied by long liquid bass tones, delicate trumpet and laid-back keys. It's a gentle soulful roller... But then it's suddenly not that at all. Document One puncture the atmosphere like a sharp intake of breath and kick us with a boot made from filthy bass. And now the light and floating sounds from before just serve to accentuate the heavyweight drive of the rave engine this tune has become. When the dancefloor needs a kickstart, here's one to draw for.

So, Document One have proved once again that they not only understand the palette of sounds and textures offered by jazz, funk and soul, but they're also willing and able to twist them into their own paradigm. They make music to make musicians nod in appreciation, but to make everyone else rave hard.


1. Document One – I Got a Fever
2. Document One – Follow Me

Released by : Technique Recordings

Release Date : 24th July 2015

5. Serial Killaz & Run Tingz Cru - Sound A Sound (Killa Tingz)
from Future Prophecies - Dreadlock (Killa Tingz 2015 Remix) + Sound A Sound

To celebrate 5 years of the Jungle powerhouse that is Run Tingz Recordings, the Bristol based imprint presents it's 10th release on wax with a remix of Future Prophecies' seminal D&B track 'Dreadlock', by none other than 'Killa Tingz', the aptly named collaboration between label stalwarts Serial Killaz & Run Tingz Cru - the first appearance for either artist across any of the Run Tingz' sub labels in over a year.

The 2015 remix brings this undisputed Breakbeat Kaos classic into the present day with a intoxicating bass reese that will leave the dancefloor for dead. On the flip, the bonus track 'Sound A Sound' is another 'Killa Tingz' flick that has been doing the rounds in clubs and festivals worldwide in recent times. Expect to hear this battering speaker stacks near you.


1. Future Prophecies - Dreadlock (Serial Killaz & Run Tingz Cru Remix)
2. Serial Killaz & Run Tingz Cru - Sound A Sound (Killa Tingz)

Released by : Run Tingz Recordings
Release Date : 24th July 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment