Monday, June 22, 2015

#BassMondays - June 2015 Favorites

We are back with #BassMondays and this time we have handpicked 5 of our favorite releases from the last couple of months.

1. Drumsound & Bassline Smith - Memories / Primitive

Summertime, and the riddims are breezy. When the warm weather heralds the arrival of festivals, carnivals and poolside raving, it's time to break out the new season's collection of beats. And, celebrating fifteen years deep in the game, Technique Recordings are dropping a “Summer Selection” album to soundtrack the sunshine properly. This first taste of the album comes from label bosses Drumsound & Bassline Smith who, judging by their show itinerary, know a thing or two about hyping a festival crowd. It's time for the ravers to raise up their hands immediately as “Memories” floats in. A rising chord structure delivered by a subtle combination of keys and pads provides a foundation for an elegantly percussive synth melody. Add in a ghostly vocal sample and this tune casually casts a cloud of euphoria over the party. The deal is sealed when the drop provides the weight of bubbling bass and effortlessly punchy drums to the mix. This is a tune that's as uplifting in the midnight haze as it is under blue skies.

Then there's a different mood for “Primitive”. Dramatic stabs kick a hole in the atmosphere, punctuating a pattern of ever-rising arpeggiation overlaid with a suspense-laden dialogue sample. And that's just the intro, before sirens signal a build into a high-voltage drop made of a taut razor-wire bassline and uppercut-force kicks and snares. Rolling high-end percussion and those blockbuster synth-strikes keep the energy at IMAX dimensions. When it's that time for the carnival crowd to properly let loose and go just a touch grimy, this is one to draw for. So, Drumsound & Bassline Smith have shown us two angles on the sunlit rave experience. And with a decade and a half of experience feeding into the “Summer Selection” album, this is clearly just a small taste of what's to come. Better grab your shades and your sunscreen, because Technique Recordings are about to light up the summer.


1. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Memories
2. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Primitive

Label : Technique Recordings

Release Date : 24th May 2015

2. Deekline & Tippa Irie - Good To Have The Feeling

Deekline and Tipa Irie are bringing the smooth grooves and ragga vibes in the place on their latest colab for Jungle Cakes. Setting the perfect mood for the summer Deekline has laced this chilled out, tropical Jungle beat with Tipa’s infectious vocal. Calling up Voltage & Nicky Blackmarket for remix duties they’ve kept some of the Caribbean feel but added some down low dirt to the mix. And no Deekline release would be complete with out some garage for the house heads, bringing a little bit of the 90s warehouse feel to the release, a sub heavy sound that will cause some serious damage on the floor.


1. Deekline & Tippa Irie - Good To Have The Feeling (Original Mix)
2. Deekline & Tippa Irie - Good To Have The Feeling (Voltage & Nicky Blackmarket Remix)
3. Deekline & Tippa Irie - Good To Have The Feeling (Speed Garage Mix)

Label : Jungle Cakes

Release Date : 1st June 2015

3. Sizzla - Cold War (Remixes by Om Unit, Mat The Alien etc.)

Muti Music is pleased to announce the release of the 5th installment of remix EPs from the Sizzla album Born A King, which we released in May of last year. The album produced by Mista Savona has received critical acclaim and charted in the top 20 of iTunes Reggae and was voted #1 Reggae album of the year (ZonaReggae), Cornel Campbell & Burro Banton version ‘Pressure’ and Burro Banton’s ‘Bad Like Mi’ were in top 50 singles of the year (United Reggae). Reggaemani and United Reggae also both had the album in their 2014 top 50, many of the remixes have already charted highly on Beatport, been listed as a Top Picks on UKF, received rave reviews in DJ Mag and had the likes of David ‘Ram Jam’ Rodigan and Toddla T dropping the originals and remixes on their BBC radio shows. Cold War features instrumental and acoustic versions, vocal reworks by Prince Alla and Bugle and the electronic remix lineup features Om Unit who creates a bouncy homage to steppers riddims, Empress Sheva with Mista Savona take the steppers concept furthers with a dance floor pleasing take, Matt The Alien and HNGVR both push concepts of Drum & Bass variations and then Sukh Knight gives us an epic Dubstep remix and takes it into an edgy and deep direction and 3rdeye pushes it to the deepest level of dub possible in Dubstep.

To give some background on this project, whilst on tour in Australia we met Mista Savona, a Melbourne based producer who had just returned from Jamaica with a bag of new riddims and an almost-completed album with legendary reggae artist Sizzla. We listened to the tunes and loved the fresh new sounds and very positive feel of the album, with its uplifting messages and inspired vocal performances. Muti Music has been releasing a series of Remix EP's based around the album's May 2014 release, featuring producers at the leading edge of dance music globally. These have been receiving rave reviews across the Blogosphere, play on BBC, XFM, Sirius and numerous other internet and FM stations, as well as reviews in high profile magazines like DJMAG.


1. Sizzla & Mista Savona - Cold War (Acoustic) [Cold War - The Remixes EP
2. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War
3. Muti Music — Prince Alla - CAPTIVE BIRD (ACOUSTIC)
4. Muti Music — Bugle - JAH PROTECT US (ACOUSTIC)
5. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War (EMPRESS SHEMA & SAVONA REMIX)
6. Muti Music — Sizzla - COLD WAR (OM UNIT REMIX)
7. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War (MAT THE ALIEN REMIX)
8. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War (HNGVR REMIX)
9. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War (SUKH KNIGHT REMIX)
10. Muti Music — Sizzla - Cold War (3rdeye REMIX)
11. Muti Music — Mista Savona - Cold War Riddim
12. Empress-shema — Cold Steppers - Mista Savona & Empress Shema
13. Muti Music — Mista Savona - Cold War (Acoustic Instrumental)

Label : Muti Music

Release Date : 1st June 2015

4. BMotion - Bear Hug / Vice City

A new addition to the Viper Recordings family, BMotion made his debut on the label last year with the single 'Feelings' / 'Something, Something', as well as appearing on Viper's prestigious 'Decade of Viper' album with 'Discotheque' (a collaboration with Chords). With his sophomore outing, BMotion is showing a dark and heavy side to his production with the absolute club monster 'Bear Hug', backed with the musicality and funk of 'Vice City'.

1. BMotion - Bear Hug
2. BMotion - Vice City
Label : Viper Recordings

Release Date : 31st May 2015

5. King Yoof & Uncle Dugs - Mi A Raver ft Ragga Twins

Taken from Bass Selection Vol 2 mixed by King Yoof, the highly anticipated collaboration between King Yoof, Uncle Dugs & The Ragga Twins hits the stores with a heavyweight remix from Jungle don Marcus Visionary.


1. King Yoof & Uncle Dugs - Mi A Raver feat The Ragga Twins (Marcus Visionary remix)
2. King Yoof & Uncle Dugs - Mi A Raver feat The Ragga Twins

Label : Sub Slayers

Release Date : 15th May 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment